»The pianist is engaged in the romantic theme of the composition with his whole body. He is moving and oscillating, as if the music would electrify him from the head to the toe. In essence he communicates with the orchestra as with a new flame, which has to be conquered.«

Biography • Andrejs Osokins

Laureate of the world’s most prominent piano competitions – including the Leeds, Rubinstein, Long-Thibaud, Queen Elisabeth and lately the International German Piano Award – London-based musician Andrejs Osokins is one of the most sought-after Latvian pianists. He was described by critics as impeccably stylish, praised for his powerful intellect and charisma, wide expressive sound palette, notably convincing in many different styles of music.


This season highlights included debuts in several important European concert halls: Auditorium La Verdi in Milan and the legendary Berliner Philharmonie to name just a few, as well as becoming Audience Awardee in the International Piano Forum in Frankfurt. His future projects are collaboration with Kremerata Baltica orchestra in Alte Oper Frankfurt, performance with Latvian National Symphony Orchestra under Maestro Vladimir Fedoseyev as well as performance in Katara Cultural village Opera House with Maestro Pablo Mielgo.
Born in 1984, he began playing piano at the age of five and gave his first solo recital at the age of 14. After graduating BMus at the Latvian Academy of Music and winning the Yamaha Scholarship Award, Andrejs moved to London and began his studies at Trinity College of Music, where he received both Licenciate and Fellowship Diplomas. He also won the Trinity College Music Competition for his performance of a Mozart concerto. In September 2008 Andrejs joined the Royal Academy of Music, studying under the guidance of Hamish Milne. He has won the Lillian Davies Prize and the Christian Carpenter Piano Recital Prize and graduated Master of Arts in Performance in July 2011.
Talent and intelligence have won him acclaim in a number of prestigious international competitions. In April 2015 he became the Audience Awardee of the 5th International German Piano Award presented by International Piano Forum. Others include winning the 4th Prize in the Arthur Rubinstein Piano Masters Competition (2014), the 4th Prize in the Leeds International Piano Competition (2012), the 3rd Prize in the Dublin International Piano competition (2012), a Laureate of Queen Elisabeth International Piano Competition, Brussels (2010), 1st Prize in the Beethoven Intercollegiate Piano Competition, London (2008), 3rd Prize in the London International Piano competition, London (2009), 1st Prize in the International J.Vitols Piano Competition, Riga (2008). In 2009 Andrejs was awarded Liela Muzikas Balva, the most prestigious music award in Latvia.
He had worked with many celebrated pianists, including Michail Voskressensky, John Lill, Christopher Elton, Domenique Merlet, Arie Vardi, Bernd Goetzke, Boris Berman, Willem Brons, Rolf Hind, Stephen Kovacevic, Volker Banfild, Jonti Solomon and Martino Tirimo.
Andrejs’ performance diary has included recitals in many high profile recital venues including Wigmore Hall, Westminster Cathedral, St-Martin-in-the-Fields, Birmingham Symphony Hall, Drapers Hall in London, La Verdi in Milan, La Monnaie in Brussels, Alte Oper in Frankfurt, Gasteig in Munich, the Great Guild Hall of Riga and Rachmaninov Hall in Moscow. Andrejs has had the honour of performing with prestigious orchestras including the Orchestre National de Belgique, conducted by Marin Alsop, the Hallé orchestra with Sir Mark Elder, Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France with Darrell Ang, the London Philharmonic orchestra with James Judd, the Latvian National Symphony orchestra, the Sinfonietta Riga Orchestra conducted by Normunds Šnē and Kremerata Baltica Chamber orchestra.

Discography

Audition

Pictures

Video

More videos on the following channel

Press

  • »[…] Osokins offers sensibility and intimacy at its finest. And although thus Bach sounds like a romantic: the filigree fingers of the Latvian pianist have something irresistible. Also with the movement of Beethoven’s “Appassionata” op. 57 he accomplishes  something magnificent.  It gets really diabolic in the finale. Osokins begins to truckle over the keyboard, his facial expression gets even more disinhibited. The pianist takes full risk to truly display the fireworks. Osokins would have probably needed a rest period afterwards, but he continues right away with two Liszt-virtuosities. Osokins myotonus increases, his filigree fingers transform into powerful paws. […]«

Berliner Morgenpost, 30. August 2016, Berlin

 

  • »[…] with his black, long hair he seems like »Romeo«. This impression does not deceit: the man on the grand piano gets involved with the romantic theme of the composition with his whole physicality; he shrugs and dandles and sways as if the music electrifies him from head to toe. Basically, he communicates with the orchestra like with a new flame, whose heart has to be won. Despite his rapid passages and his hard touch he knows how to completely restrain himself in the famous second Adagio-movement and reduces the melancholia of the melodies to their bare essence.[…]«

Tagesspiegel · 22. August 2016, Berlin

 

  • »…The soloist and laureate of the audience award of 2015 Andrejs Osokins made with piano concerto Nr. 1 from Liszt a key-thunder….«

Guido Holze · Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung – 8 April, 2016

 

  • »…His encore with Schumann was supple and tender….«

Matthias Gerhard · Frankfurter Neue Presse – 8 April, 2016

»Mit seinen schwarzen, langen Haaren wirkt er wie ein brandgefährlicher Verführer. Der Eindruck täuscht nicht: Der Mann am Flügel lässt sich auf das romantische Thema der Komposition mit ganzer Körperlichkeit ein, zuckt und schaukelt und schwankt, als würde ihn die Musik von Kopf bis Fuß elektrisieren. Im Grunde kommuniziert er mit dem Orchester wie mit einer neuen Flamme, die es zu gewinnen gilt.«

Biografie • Andrejs Osokins

Bei den bekanntesten Klavierwettbewerben weltweit als Laureat ausgezeichnet – darunter die Wettbewerbe von Leeds, Rubinstein, Long-Thibaud und Queen Elisabeth, ebenso wie der Internationale Deutsche Pianistenpreis – ist der in London wohnhafte Musiker Andrejs Osokins einer der begehrtesten lettischen Pianisten. Er wurde von Kritikern als einwandfrei stilvoll beschrieben und sowohl für seinen ausgeprägten Intellekt und sein Charisma gelobt als auch für seine breite expressive Klangpalette. Darüber hinaus überzeugt Andrejs Osokins in vielen verschiedenen Musikstilen.


Die Highlights der Saison 2016 sind Auftritte in renommierten Konzertsälen in ganz Europa, wie das Auditorium La Verdi in Mailand, die legendäre Berliner Philharmonie sowie die Alte Oper Frankfurt, in der er bereits ein Jahr zuvor als Publikumspreisträger im Rahmen des Internationalen Deutschen Pianistenpreises hervortrat. Seine weiteren Pläne stehen bereits fest – eine Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kremarata Baltica Orchester in der Alten Oper Frankfurt, ein Konzert mit dem Lettischen National Sinfonie Orchester unter dem Maestro Vladimir Fedoseyev sowie eine Aufführung im Katara Cultural Village Opernhaus mit Maestro Pablo Mielgo.
Andrejs Osokins wurde im Jahr 1984 geboren, begann mit dem Klavierspielen im Alter von fünf Jahren und gab sein erstes Solokonzert im Alter von 14 Jahren. Nach Vollendung des Abschlusses BMus an der Lettischen Musikakademie und nachdem ihm der Yamaha-Stipendienpreis verliehen wurde, zog Andrejs Osokins nach London und begann sein Studium am Trinity College of Music, wo er sowohl den Licenciate- als auch den Fellowship-Abschluss absolvierte. Des Weiteren gewann er den Musikwettbewerb des Trinity College für seine Aufführung eines Klavierkonzertes von Mozart.

Im September 2008 schloss sich Andrejs Osokins der Royal Academy of Music an und studierte dort unter der Leitung von Hamish Milne. Er gewann den Lillian-Davies-Preis und den Christian-CarpenterKlavierkonzert-Preis und absolvierte seinen Abschluss im Studiengang »Master of Arts in Performance« im Juli 2011.
Sein Talent und seine Intelligenz haben ihm bei einer Vielzahl von renommierten internationalen Wettbewerben zu hohem Lob verholfen. Im April 2015 wurde ihm der Publikumspreis des 5. Internationalen Deutschen Pianistenpreises verliehen, der vom International Piano Forum vergeben wird. Weitere Erfolge schließen folgende Auszeichnungen ein: den 4. Preis im Arthur-RubinsteinPiano-Masters-Wettbewerb (2014), den 4. Preis beim Internationalen Klavierwettbewerb in Leeds (2012), den 3. Preis beim Internationalen Klavierwettbewerb in Dublin (2012), eine Preiskrönung des Internationalen Queen-Elisabeth-Klavierwettbewerbs, Brüssel (2010), den 1. Preis beim BeethovenIntercollegiate-Klavierwettbewerb, London (2008), den 3. Preis beim Internationalen Klavierwettbewerb London, London (2009), und den 1. Preis beim Internationalen J.-VitolsKlavierwettbewerb, Riga (2008). Im Jahr 2009 wurde Andrejs Osokins mit der Liela Muzikas Balva ausgezeichnet, der renommiertesten Musikauszeichnung in Lettland.
Er hat mit vielen gefeierten Pianisten zusammengearbeitet, darunter Paul Badura-Skoda, Michail Voskressensky, John Lill, Christopher Elton, Domenique Merlet, Arie Vardi, Bernd Goetzke, Boris Berman, Willem Brons, Rolf Hind, Stephen Kovacevic, Volker Banfild, Jonti Solomon und Martino Tirimo.
In Andrejs Osokins‘ Aufführungskalender stehen Konzerte an vielen renommierten Schauplätzen, darunter die Berliner Philharmonie, die Wigmore Hall, Westminster Cathedral, St-Martin-in-theFields, die Birmingham Symphony Hall, die Drapers Hall in London, das Auditorium di Milano LaVerdi in Mailand, La Monnaie in Brüssel, die Alte Oper in Frankfurt, der Gasteig in München, die Great Guild Hall von Riga und die Rachmaninow Hall in Moskau. Andrejs Osokins hatte die Ehre, mit Orchestern von hohem Prestige aufzutreten, darunter das Orchestre National de Belgique unter der Leitung von Marin Alsop, das Hallé Orchestra mit Sir Mark Elder, das Orchestre Philharmonique von Radio France mit Darrell Ang, das London Philharmonic Orchestra mit James Judd, das lettische National Symphony Orchestra unter der Leitung von Yuri Simonov, das Sinfonietta Riga Orchestra unter der Leitung von Normunds Šnē und das Kremerata-Baltica-Kammerorchester.

Diskografie

Hörprobe

Bilder

Video

Mehr Videos unter folgendem Kanal

Presse

  • »[…] Osokins bietet Empfindsamkeit und Intimität vom Feinsten. Und obwohl dieser Bach dadurch wie ein Romantiker klingt: Die filigranen Finger des lettischen Pianisten haben etwas Unwiderstehliches. Auch in den Außensätzen von Beethovens „Appassionata“ op. 57 gelingt ihm Großartiges. So richtig teuflisch geht es erst im Finale zur Sache. Osokins beginnt über der Tastatur zu buckeln, seine Mimik wird noch enthemmter. Der Pianist geht volles Risiko, um ein wahrlich verrücktes Feuerwerk abzubrennen. Vermutlich hätte Osokins danach eine Erholungspause benötigt. Doch es geht gleich weiter mit zwei Liszt-Virtuositäten. Osokins Muskeltonus steigt an, seine filigranen Finger verwandeln sich in heftige Pranken. […]«

Berliner Morgenpost, 30. August 2016, Berlin

 

  • »…Mit seinen schwarzen, langen Haaren wirkt er wie ein brandgefährlicher Verführer. Der Eindruck täuscht nicht: Der Mann am Flügel lässt sich auf das romantische Thema der Komposition mit ganzer Körperlichkeit ein, zuckt und schaukelt und schwankt, als würde ihn die Musik von Kopf bis Fuß elektrisieren. Im Grunde kommuniziert er mit dem Orchester wie mit einer neuen Flamme, die es zu gewinnen gilt. Doch trotz seiner schnellen Läufe und harten Anschläge weiß er sich im berühmten zweiten Adagio-Satz vollends zu zügeln und reduziert die Schwermut der Melodien auf ihre nackte Essenz…«

Tagesspiegel · 22. August 2016, Berlin

 

  • »… Der Solist und Publikumspreisträger des Jahres 2015 Andrejs Osokins entfachte einen Tastendonner mit Liszts Klavierkonzert Nr.1 Es-Dur….«

Guido Holze · Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung · 8 April, 2016

 

  • »… Er lieferte eine weich und elastisch gespielte Schumann-Zugabe….«

Matthias Gerhard · Frankfurter Neue Presse · 8 April, 2016